Simple Lessons Learned from an Ingrown Hair Bump

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything here. Okay, actually this is the first, because I just migrated from Blogger! In any case, the thoughts for this post came to my mind like a flood and I had to share. I usually have pictures with these posts, but the relevant images I saw were pretty gross so I’ll pass this time. *shudders*

******

Any man who has to shave his beard knows that from time to time, after our facial hair is cut, sometimes an unruly hair or two grows into the skin instead of out in the open like it is supposed to. This usually causes a painful bump, and the longer the hair stays under the skin, the longer you’ll have that bump and all the nice and wonderful painful things that come with it… like discomfort, irritability, pain, disfiguration, pain, and even embarrassment. Did I say pain? Yeah, definitely pain.

I was the privileged–and by that I mean cursed–recipient of one such ingrown hair bump. Usually when I get these I grab a pin and set the hair free. Problem was, I thought I already found the hair that was causing me bother, but apparently there was another in stealth mode that for about two weeks I could not locate. Every time the bump got swollen I’d squeeze it (sorry for the imagery) but it would always restore itself to what it was pre-squeeze, and sometimes it’d get bigger just for the heck of it. Oh joy.

Finally, one Friday evening before church, I decided I had enough, and I was not going to stop looking until I found that ingrown hair. At last, about 3 facial miles north of where I thought it was, I found the sucker and pulled it out. Jubilation! A week later, tonight (April 10, 2015), the application hit me like a brick.

  • Sometimes in our lives we have things in our lives that affect us. They can be sins, they can be problems, or bad habits. They are so deeply rooted in the skin of our lives that sometimes we pick at the surface, pick at the things we think are causing us pain, when the real problems lie hidden beneath. Sometimes it takes us a long time to find the things that affect us, and without real determination and God shining His revealing light upon us, we may never even find them.
  • Like me, every time the bump gets swollen, we squeeze and prod for a quick fix, and return the next day to find things worse than they were before. Until we allow God into our situation and use His word to pierce beneath the surface of our lives, these “ingrowns” will fester and cause us much pain, and while untreated could even lead to public embarrassment when they show their ugly heads.
  • I realize that even though I wanted the issue to be solved, it didn’t get solved until I got frustrated, decided that I had enough and I wouldn’t stop trying until the problem was fixed. We need to get to this place, where we are tired of these issues and cry out to God for deliverance. He’s patiently waiting to help, but it’s on us to recognize that we need Him and His will for our lives. On the flip side, He actually allows these things to occur, but He’ll never allow us to face more than we can handle.
  • I had such release after getting my ingrown hair out. Yes, it was a wound for a little bit and eventually it left a scar, but I knew I didn’t have to worry about it anymore. The pain was gone in an instant. The consequences of our sins and/or the results of our problems leave us scarred at times, but once we’re alive and able to tell the tale of our deliverance we ought to tell everybody we can. We should not be ashamed of our scars but use them to help others learn how to better navigate this maze called life, and even encourage ourselves and give hope when we face similar circumstances.

I never dreamed that something so small could teach so much, but God can use something as minuscule as a grain of sand, or as grand as a mountain to bring much needed lessons to us. Ever the innovator, now He uses our ingrown hairs! A dermatological spiritual lesson 🙂

One thought on “Simple Lessons Learned from an Ingrown Hair Bump

Leave a Reply

